Moonlighting with Club & AYSO in SoCal, My 9yo sons experience!

RuffRef

BRONZE
This is NOT a Pro / Con debate (please excuse the errors in my grammar and syntax etc. Im not a journalist just a soccer dad)

Me: Im a AYSO coach 2yrs (son/daughter) /AYSO ref 2 yrs/ and participate in some AYSO administration I believe in the organization and support it. This thread is to only point out my experience in my sons 09' 2018 youth soccer development process.

My son (2009) was playing AYSO Core in 2017/18, he had a great coach, and developed at a very acceptable pace. (but not the best player on his team) he was not invited for extras but played on the All-star Team where all things possible were/went bad concerning development in youth soccer.
-info-insert-
1.The Ayso all star coach didnt show up for the 1st two practices, as well as many other practices/games. He was laxed, and never had a game-plan for practice, unorganized, and visibly all over the place. (parents were very concerned from the start)
2. He favored his two players from his core team who went undefeated but were a older, very lazy, privileged and never showed any signs of working hard. (doing step overs in you own box, vs. clearing the ball etc.)
3.The team lost every game, the coach was not dedicated and easily frustrated.
4. practices were unproductive , every kid wants to be striker, no one wants to be keeper. or play hard. players fought for throw ins, played defense on eachother rather than the opponents. (Bad News Bears x50)
5. The Pinnacle of pitty was this coach pulling this all Star team from a tourney mid game because the kids were losing.....BAD , literally forfeiting the game while it was being played. And watching another team on the adjacent field play with his back to his own players during the game.
Just the worst thing for child soccer development.
6. all the kids except 4,, have chosen not to play soccer anymore.......ever!!!

Now.. During this all star season