Why did the ref's take away this goal???

Discussion in 'C'mon Ref!' started by George Lopez, Jun 23, 2018.

  1. coachrefparent

    coachrefparent Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +634 / 21
    That's right. And it's "handball" per IFAB, damnit!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Definitelynotanotherref

    Definitelynotanotherref Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +135 / 5
    I'm going to try to guess what the discussion between the CTR and the AR was. Because of the new offside interpretation, there is a distinction between a deliberate save and a deliberate play on the ball. This distinction is difficult even for referees who have studied it before so it what likely what they were talking about.
    If it was a deliberate save, then offside would have still counted, if it was a deliberate play, then offside would have reset and there would have been no offside.

    Sorry, this might be a little much for someone still trying to grasp the "main" rules. But, if you get to know a referee who is good at explaining things (and not an asshole) then he can probably explain 1 thing, like offside, to you in 30minutes-hour. I know if you asked me nicely on the field and I had time, I would not mind spending some time educating a parent that genuinely wants to understand the LOTG.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Surfref

    Surfref Silver Elite

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    777
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +2,069 / 21
    IMO IFAB has made it easy to determine a deliberate save. The LOTG make it fairly clear what to look for.
    LOTG 2018-2019 Law 11
    “A ‘save’ is when a player stops, or attempts to stop, a ball which is going into or very close to the goal with any part of the body except the hands/arms (unless the goalkeeper within the penalty area).”

    I think the basics of Offside can be explained within 5 minutes and the short basic description will not confuse someone new to the game. As long as the CR and AR are working as a team and the AR is correctly positioned, Offside should be an easy call or no-call to make for the AR and CR.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. coachrefparent

    coachrefparent Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +634 / 21
    Yes, or in other words a save is a save.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Gimpyhip

    Gimpyhip Bronze

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Nobody confirmed it. Pretty much everyone agrees they can't tell from the angle but it may well have been correct and that the ref/AR team appear to have handled it correctly. Without a better angle there is no way to confirm whether or not the call was actually correct. Nice passive aggressive post though.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Definitelynotanotherref

    Definitelynotanotherref Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +135 / 5
    It may be easy to you and me that constantly update ourselves with the law changes and obsessively (?) drill the LOTG into our heads.

    But the average weekend Presidio referee just glances at the new changes. To the novice (probably) AR and the average (probably) CTR, there was a panic moment for both of them that went "oh wait, this is that new thingy that I was sent a thingy on like 2-22 weeks ago". So they conferred just to help make themselves 100% sure.

    They probably even have to go "wait, it was a save right... does that reset or keep offside? I thinks it keeps it, that would make sense, fingers crossed." and then proceeded to double check with another referee after the game was finished.
     
  7. Definitelynotanotherref

    Definitelynotanotherref Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +135 / 5
    On a referee nerdy note. Whether or not it is a save is harder to determine if the defender is standing more towards the top of the 18 (penalty area, IK). Even with that criteria above, the line between aggressive cross to a teammate and placed shot is pretty blurry. What about crappy shot vs long through ball. Easy to determine if the ball has traveled for 10-20 yards before the defender deliberately does "something" to it. But what if the deliberate play/save occurs 2 yards from the original pass/shot.

    I tend to lean on the side of, did the defender plausibly believe it was a shot. So I actually lean on the side of the defender on this note. I have no idea if that is proper soccer philosophy though.
     

Share This Page