Referee behavior?

As the name suggests, soccer newbie here. Is it normal for a referee to threaten a yellow card after a player takes a moment to compose themselves after getting smacked in the face with a ball?

No big story. Just used to refs asking the player if they are ok after obviously getting hit instead of running to them and saying get up or I'm going to give you a yellow. It's not like the player was down on the ground for a long time but knelt down for a second. The ref literally ran over saying that as soon as it happened.

That seems like a very odd situation. Especially with all of the importance of head injury recognition that has been pressed on referees and coaches the past few years.
Was it the end of the match with a 1 goal lead? Was the team wasting a time prior to this? Was the coach yelling for him to "take his time"?

I think this came down from FIFA last week as standard practice to implemented immediately by all referees at all levels.

Getting smacked in the face with the ball can be a serious injury actually. At one of my son's game defender took one in the jaw and was down for a while. Play continued for a bit before his team evenutally kicked it out and one of the trainers went out to take a look, he was bleeding from the mouth and swelling already. We later found out he suffered a jaw fracture.

Have no idea about what age group or anybody's behavior in this instance but when anybody is down erroring on the side of caution seems prudent.

Another story of an incident that didnt look too bad.
Playing adult co-ed this Fall. Old person soccer. Out for a good run and not crazy competitive.
Keeper punts a ball past the halfline. Ball comes down and hits an unsuspecting female player on the side of the head. Looked like it grazed the side of her face/head. She walked off the field and was clearly a bit hurt.
Found out the next day that she was in the hospital with a detached retina.