Pick-up soccer is in full swing with kids

As a coach, I must say, it is refreshing seeing so many kids playing pick-up soccer, at least here in Norcal. Usually, pick up soccer is mostly played by adults. Our Kids usually have so many other sports to attend e.g, games, tournaments, that they have no time to do what is actually the most beneficial part of any sport, free play. Not worrying about what the coach will say when little Johnny decides to chip the ball for a pass without hearing the coach scream, "keep it on the ground Johnny!!", or god forbid, little Johnny decides to dribble through a few players, "keep it simple!!". Too bad it took Covid for this to unfold. I am sure this will be short lived as coaches are eager to start their seasons and parents are ready to start paying an arm and a leg for their kids to be over coached.

I'm looking at getting four teams together this fall for 04s and 05s. Coach Tech ((IE), Coach Kicker ((LA South Bay)), Coach Buck ((OC)) and we need a coach in SD. Coach Buck, I will be TM and head recruiter. Let's plan this out if school and soccer is closed.

We're going to see a lot of Latino league and futsal this fall too. If you close the salons, they'll do garage haircuts. If you close the bars, they'll have private parties. If you close the soccer fields, they'll just do pickup games.
LOL. Funny thing, this is not happening just in Latino Neighborhoods, I am witnessing kids soccer pick-up games in white neighborhood, shock! Lots of bike riding, kids playing basketball, football, you name it. We coaches/parents are killing the fun. It almost looks like the 70' & 80's out there when kids organized their own games and youth sports was not a business.