Parents on Coaches Sidelines

OCsoccerdad7777

SILVER ELITE
Was wondering if anyone had been a part of a club team that had a parent or parents sit on the bench with the coach during the games and practices.

Seems like a conflict of interest especially since they are giving input during games.

Nice people but I didn't like it at all.

No quality, club coach would ever put up with that. There should be 1 voice on that sideline. If I was a coach, I wouldn't want parents on my side of the field let alone on my bench. This is one HUGE advantage I see for SCDSL over Coast.
My youngest daughter is an '08 and this weekend they played a team who had a daddy/manager on the bench cheer leading the entire match. He was most certainly a distraction, and those girls didn't know who to listen to.

I respectfully disagree with soccerchaffeur. I agree that there should be One Voice, however I do not think this is a CSL vs SCDSL discussion, hell it is not even a discussion of SCDSL vs AYSO.

A well run program regardless of affiliation - AYSO, SCDSL, or CSL, if parents are seated on the same side of the field as the team, should sit between the 18 yard box and coaches technical area. If your team bench is centered in the field this gives the coach 10 yards on either side of the bench, and helps prevent parents from distracting the goalie. Simple rule, easily enforceable.

I got my lesson early when I said "Quickly, quickly" to one of our players when it was our throwin. The coach turned to me and said quietly "I'll coach". I got my license after an event where our coach was tossed before the game started, and the manager who knew nothing about the game but was the only other licensed adult available had to take over. I sat behind her, answering her questions and making suggestions.