"Our Coach/DOC went to Europe and...."

I hear about lots of coaches going to Europe for a week or so during the summer. Sometimes they take a team with them to play.

Some questions:
  1. Are these usually just boondoggles? A guy gets to go home and see his family with the club paying for travel expenses.
  2. When they go to watch a team train (which is what they all say)- Do they arrange this is advance?
    • Do they just call up Aston Villa and say "Hey, I'm a coach in the US, can I come and observe how you train kids?
    • Do they have a buddy that is a coach at Leicester City or Tottenham that hooks them up with a stadium tour?
  3. How much do they really watch a team train? 1 practice for 1 age group probably doesn't teach you a whole lot about youth development for that club.
  4. When they do play against a team - Is it against their top teams or is it against whoever says "sure, we'll play the Americans."
Do European basketball coaches come over here and try to meet with AAU, college and/or pro teams to learn how they teach American style basketball?

Isn't it a question of the contacts of the particular coach and/or program? For example, those soccer tours some companies offer are just basically for fun...you say get to see an AC Milan game and train a little with a few scrimmages with some sightseeing thrown in...the coach that goes usually gets his vacation comped in return for chaperoning. If the coach has some real contacts with the club, it might be different.

It's the same the other way around, though in Spain one of the few part time jobs students studying abroad can secure is rec basketball coach (along with English teacher) given the restrictions of the immigration laws (for example, a job as a waiter or shop clerk is impossible to secure, since Spaniards can do them).