Open letter to HS and club soccer coaches

E Dykes

BRONZE
Its time to team up and work together. I currently work with both a So Cal HS and a So Cal club and what I'm hearing going on within some programs is breaking our kids so lets get to it.

HS coaches- lay off the conditioning on Thurs & Fridays until the club season is over. As a club coach I have kids running 4/5 miles on Friday with their HS team and then they are asked to play top tier soccer with some playing 2 game that weekend. Not healthy for kids. I'm in charge of strength and condition at the HS I work at. I go light with mainly upper body work and mobility late in the week.

Club coaches- Be aware that MANY HS teams are running heavily right now in prep for their season. Don't run them again. Train tactics. Most HS coaches aren't even touching a ball right now.
- I'm not a fan of running them for miles at a time but its happening and its happening a bunch- so don't make it worse.

HS coaches- Many of your training methods are hurting your kids ability to play the game and are causing injuries. Old school methods are not a good way to train today's year round soccer players. Running their butts off 5 days a week is easy for you as you stand around and yell that them but it is not healthy. You have access to weights, build strength, mobility and SOME conditioning. Know many of these kids are training 3 night a week for another 6 hours. They are running at their practice too even if its not conditioning. When they are dragging at your practice it doesn't mean they are out of shape its more often they are over training and breaking down.

Club coaches leave your ego at the door. Know its easier for you to adapt your training instead of asking coaches from a dozen high schools to adapt to you.

Coaches- communicate with each other. You care about your kids but you are inadvertently over training the kids and hurting their bodies in the long run. Coordinate the best you can.