Eyewear on the field

smellycleats

SILVER ELITE
Does anyone know the rules for sunglasses and/or eye protection on the field? My player is very fair with light eyes and is having an issue with bloodshot eyes after games. Pediatrician says it's sunburn on the whites of her eyes. Not good long term as she can apparently develop problems with her eyes. What are the official rules for wearing eye protection for games and can anyone suggest a specific brand?

As a referee, I only ask if the player will have difficulty keeping them on. If it is a very young player that isn't wearing any thing like 'froggies' (dating myself, probably) I tell them that if they don't find them right away go down like they are hurt so that nobody steps on them.

We spent the extra money for Oakleys. Light as a feather and I can rest easy knowing their strength for tolerating impacts. They have the transitional lenses so she can wear them day/night. Only time they've come off was in a few pretty hard impacts. She said they pushed against her face pretty hard..but I told her to imagine not wearing anything and taking that same leg or boot to the face. She's a GK.

My kid (now wears contacts) needed to wear glasses. We got her sports glasses/goggles from her eye doctor. I don't think I'd trust anything off the shelf (even Oakleys).
I see kids on the field with regular eyeglasses on and I think that is prettt dangerous. Eyes are pretty important and hard to repair.

Does anyone know the rules for sunglasses and/or eye protection on the field? My player is very fair with light eyes and is having an issue with bloodshot eyes after games. Pediatrician says it's sunburn on the whites of her eyes. Not good long term as she can apparently develop problems with her eyes. What are the official rules for wearing eye protection for games and can anyone suggest a specific brand?