CSL and SCDL

smellycleats

SILVER ELITE
Can someeone tell me about the similarities and differences between these two leagues? What is the ideology behind The formation of SCDL? When was it formed and what was the rationale behind it? Thanks in advance! Im still learning.

Too bad the old socalsoccer website was wiped. It was amazing to me that parents believed and defended the bs that scdsl put out. What it was and what it became was predicted by the detractors.

Now most of us have something that is not as good, we drive too much, and several middle aged men in track suits and full wallets sit around and laugh at us, at least some of them.

SCDSL was formed because CSL wouldn't allow clubs to take teams out of CSL at the older ages for ECNL. CSL threatened to not accept the younger teams from those same clubs. So 20 of the bigger clubs formed SCDSL.

On similarities - we played CSL Silver last year and SCDSL Level 2 this year. The only differences I saw were we played on slightly better fields with SCDSL and the SCDSL playoff format seems to make more sense than CSL.

They are both just fall leagues. With ECNL and now DA, neither one of them will really matter. Find a good club with a recent history of being competitive and getting kids recruited.

SCDSL was formed with good intentions on paper. But what followed was a bunch of mergers/acquisitions/franchising on clubs.
Coast was a bit to rigid, so the "big" clubs took their ball and started a new league. Over time, many of the things that SCDSL said would be different have evolved into what Coast was doing in the first place.
Biggest difference -
Coast has promotion / relegation. SCDSL has "Self Seeding" with some oversight at the older age groups.
Coast only allows a club to have 3 teams per age group. SCDSL might have clubs that have 3 teams or more in each flight.
Coast has "league cup" that allows teams to play against other flights.