All Team Rankings

DA Soccer

BRONZE
I’ve been doing DA rankings for last 2 months and have gotten several private messages asking me how I think the non-Academy teams compare with the Academy teams. There have also been a lot of posts talking about the failed Academy program given the US Men’s debacle.

First, I am biased toward Academy because my DD is on an Academy team, so everything probably has a pro academy bias. Also, my brother is a tier D1 assistant coach, so I have gotten his perspective on things as well. I think the Academy program has the best players and if your DD is a regular starter on a good team, Academy is definitely the right choice.

If your DD is not a regular starter or not on a good team, I would strongly consider looking elsewhere.

This is for 2 reasons, first, I think the biggest probably with the Academy system is the kids do not play enough games. US soccer says this is what other countries do, but US soccer does not understand we are different. US kids are not playing hours of pick up soccer and not watching hours of professional games on their own. Thus, US kids do not understand the game as well as their international piers. The way they catch up is by playing games. The US woman’s team has done so well because we have top athletes and because our youth girls programs have played tons of game. I fear Academy is really going to hurt the future of US soccer because of the games. Thus, if your DD is not playing the majority of the few games Academy is playing, you need to move them.